Awards in Medical Education

Resident Award for Excellence in Medical Education Scholarship

The Department of Medicine supports residents and fellows by offering an annual “Resident Award for Excellence in Medical Education Scholarship”. The purpose of the fund is to recognize a Department of Medicine junior and senior resident for excellence and commitment to scholarship in medical education. Although excellence in teaching is a highly valued activity, this award is not for teaching. The funds are provided to support travel to a medical education meeting, or expenses related to improving skills in education research.

  • Application Deadline: September 20th, 2016

For full details please click Resident Award for Excellence in Medical Education 2016 Terms of Reference

Dr. Meridith Marks Educator Award For Innovation And Scholarship In Medical Education

This fund was established in September 2009 by the Department of Medicine and other generous donors in recognition of Dr. Meridith Marks’ contribution to medical education. The purpose of the fund is to recognize excellence and commitment to scholarship in medical education by providing awards to Faculty members registered at the Faculty of Medicine. The funds may be used at the discretion of the recipient for support of a research study, innovation expenses, salary support, and stipend or travel expenses related to medical education initiatives.

Preference will be given to faculty members in the Department of Medicine; however, applications from outside the department will be accepted with priority given to those who collaborate significantly with Department of Medicine educators. Members of the Division of PM&R will be eligible for the award regardless of their departmental affiliation.

Eligibility Criteria

The applicant must:

  1. have an appointment in the Faculty of Medicine at the University of Ottawa;
  2. exhibit teaching excellence AND be dedicated to enhancing scholarship in medical education. In addition to research, grants, and publications, educational scholarship may include innovation and its dissemination through such means as national peer-reviewed education workshops, adoption of materials by others, or submission to peer-reviewed education repositories;
  3. be available to attend the Department of Medicine Recognition Ceremony.

Value of the Award (2016): $10,000.00

Application Contact: Vice Chair of Education, Department of Medicine, Dr. Barbara Power ( Applications should be copied to

Nicole Neocleous;

Application Deadline: September 18th, 2016

Level of the Award: Clinical and PhD


  • Preference will be given to individuals within 10 years of their academic appointment, but all will be considered
  • Candidates may self-nominate or be nominated by peers.
  • Applications (using a minimum of 10-point font and 3 cm margins) should be a maximum of 25 pages in length and must include:
    • 2-page summary of the candidate‚Äôs contributions to medical education scholarship
    • Description of the proposal and plan for use of the funds
    • Teaching dossier
    • Current Curriculum Vitae
    • Letter of support from a colleague in the DoM

Terms of References:

Medical Education Research / Medical Innovation Project Grant

2016 Grant Recipients

  • Drs. Erin Keely & Christopher Tran for¬†”Leveraging the Champlain BASE eConsult service to enhance practice-based learning in ambulatory care for resident physicians: Training Residents Using eConsult (TRUE)”
  • Drs. Karima Khamisa & Debra Pugh for¬†”The Implementation and Evaluation of an Innovative e-Learning Module for OSCE Examiners”
  • Drs. Karima Khamisa & Melissa Rousseau for¬†”The development and evaluation of a novel medical education elective for fourth year medical students”
  • Dr. Nancy Dudek for “Can we assess trainees, provide written feedback, and improve uptake? A grounded theory study of assessment anchors in postgraduate medical education”
  • Dr. Susan Humphrey-Murto for “The Current State of Musculoskeletal Ultrasonography Training Among Canadian Post Graduate Rheumatology Programs”
  • Dr. Nancy Dudek for “On being a female full professor: An international study exploring the experiences of women working in medical education”
  • Dr. Ed Spilg for ¬†”Measuring the Impact of a Physician Mentoring Program on Physician Health and Wellness and Engagement at Work”
  • Dr. Anne McCarthy for ¬†”Are We Ready for International Work? Preparing Faculty to supervise or participate in global health programming in low resource settings”

Medical Education Research Award

The Medical Education Research Awards are available to provide salary support for members of the Department of Medicine whose career development is centered in Medical Education. The Education Career awards are intended to encourage and support members of the Department of Medicine to pursue their academic and scholarly interests in medical education.

There are 22 departmental members who have a Masters in Education or are pursuing this degree.  The Director of Medical Education, Dr. Susan Humphrey-Murto, oversees education career awards and educational projects that enhance this educational scholarship and facilitate academic careers in this field that will ultimately be beneficial for the department.  The department is closely aligned with DIME (Department of Innovation in Medical Education at the University of Ottawa) and with the University of Ottawa Skills and Simulation Centre.