Division of Rheumatology


The Division of Rheumatology is based at The Arthritis Centre on the 6th floor of the Riverside Campus. Our team consists of 5 full-time individuals as well as 5 part-time academic staff, nurses, a pharmacist, social worker and administrative staff. We provide exemplary care to patients with a wide variety of musculoskeletal and autoimmune diseases. We provide service to the Champlain LHIN and outreach care to patients in Baffin Island. We are focusing on the development of priority programs including Advanced Therapeutics and Systemic Autoimmune Rheumatic Diseases such as lupus, scleroderma and Sjogren’s syndrome. Considering that 1 in 6 Canadians are affected, we have significant manpower challenges. We are actively developing relationships with community physicians and agencies such as The Arthritis Society and The Osteoporosis Society. We are committed to the training of rotating students and residents from a variety of fields and are proud of our subspecialty training program. Advances in disease modifying and specifically targeted biologic therapies are contributing to the excitement in and for our subspecialty.


The Division of Rheumatology offers a two-year program and applicants must have completed at least three years of training in Internal Medicine in an accredited program recognized by the Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada.  Our program is based at the Arthritis Centre located at the Riverside Campus of the Ottawa Hospital.

read more

Recent Notable Honours and Achievements

  • Dr. C. Douglas Smith received the Mentorship Lifetime Achievement by the Faculty of Medicine.
  • Dr. Jacob Karsh is the Secretary-Treasurer of the Canadian Rheumatology Association, the Vice-President of the Board of the Journal of Rheumatology, the Chief Medical Officer of Red Maple Trials, and an external reviewer for the Canadian Agency for Drugs and Technology in Health (CADTH).
  • Dr. Peter Tugwell continues in his role as Director for the Center for Global Health, Institute of Population Health, University of Ottawa. Peter also holds a Canada Research Chair for Health Equity.
  • Dr. John Thomson is a Board Member of the CRA Executive and Chair of the Human Resources Committee. He also co-chairs the Eastern Ontario Rheumatology Association Annual Meeting with Dr. Brian Boate.
  • Dr. Susan Humphrey-Murto: Co-Chair Education Research and Development Committee, Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada, founding faculty member of the Canadian Association for Medical Education National Assessment Course (CAME-PACCC); she is the Interim Director for the Research Support Unit, Department of Innovation in Medical Education, University of Ottawa and the DIME/University of Ottawa Skills and Simulation Center Medical Education Fellowship Director.
  • Dr. Humphrey-Murto received the Faculty of Medicine Award of Distinction and Service University of Ottawa; a Nomination for the Meridith Marks Mentorship Award, Memorial University; and Department of Medicine Mentorship Award, University of Ottawa. The Division of Rheumatology greatly acknowledges the outstanding service Susan has championed in Medical Education in Canada over the years.

You are viewing our legacy website. Click here to view the new website.