Leadership & Members

Since 2007, the leadership of The Division of Endocrinology and Metabolism has been represented by Dr Erin Keely as Hospital Chief and by Dr Alexander Sorisky as University Chair. Together, and in conjunction with division members, they have worked to enhance patient care within The Ottawa Hospital and the region, to optimize our educational mission at the undergraduate and graduate level, and to drive innovative translational and clinical research to find answers for better health care tomorrow.

Erin Keely MD FRCPC

Dr. Erin Keely is Head, Division of Endocrinology and Metabolism at the Ottawa Hospital and Professor in the Departments of Medicine and Obstetrics/Gynecology at the University of Ottawa. She is a member of the 2008 and 2013 Canadian Diabetes Association Clinical Practice Guidelines expert committee.

Read more about Dr. Keely

Alexander Sorisky MD FRCPC

Head, Division of Endocrinology and Metabolism

Dr. Alexander Sorisky is Head, Division of Endocrinology and Metabolism, University of Ottawa, and Professor of Medicine and of Biochemistry, Microbiology & Immunology. He is also the Director of Mentorship for the Department of Medicine and Senior Scientist and Director of the Chronic Disease Program of the Ottawa Hospital Research Institute.

Read more about Dr. Sorisky


Dr. Amel Arnaout is an Assistant Professor in the Faculty of Medicine at the University of Ottawa and the Program Director for the Endocrinology and Metabolism Residency Training Program.

Read more about Dr. Arnaout



Members and Divisional Roles


  • Amel Arnaout, MD FRCPC (Rotating Resident Coordinator)
  • Michel Chretien FRS, MD, CLH, OC, OQ
  • Bob Dent, MDCM, FRCPC
  • Phyllis Hierlihy, MD FRCPC (Co-Lead, LHIN Diabetes Regional Coordinating Centre)
  • Erin Keely, MD FRCPC (Chief, The Ottawa Hospital)
  • Shajia Khan, MBBS, FRCPC
  • Dora Liu, MD FRCPC (Academics Rounds Coordinator)
  • Heather Lochnan, MD FRCPC (Undergraduate Medical Education Coordinator)
  • Mary-Anne Doyle, MD FRCPC
  • Janine Malcolm, MD FRCPC (Director, Residency Training Program and Co-Lead, LHIN Diabetes Regional Coordinating Centre)
  • Hussein Abujrad, MD FRCPC
  • Teik Chye Ooi, MBBS FRCPC FRACP FACE FAHA (Director, Clinical Research Laboratory)
  • Jerry Radziuk, MD, PhD
  • Fraser Scott PhD
  • Alexander Sorisky, MDCM, FRCPC (Chair, University of Ottawa and Director, Chronic Disease Program, OHRI)
  • Peter Walker, MD FRCPC
  • Xiahoui Zha PhD