Kudos for June 2011

Recognizing significant contributions and achievements from the members of the Department of Medicine in the form of awards, grants, media mentions and publications.


Dr. Kevin Burns was awarded the Harold W. Ashenmil Award from the Kidney Foundation of Canada for 2011. The award is granted to a volunteer, who, over a number of years, has rendered distinguished service and made noteworthy contributions to the mission and objectives of the Kidney Foundation of Canada. It is considered the highest honour given to a volunteer.

Dr. Gary Garber is an inaugural recipient of Canadian Certified Physician Executive (CCPE) credential. The credential is a new leadership status founded by CMA and Canadian Society of Physician Executives. Through a peer review / assessment process, Dr. Garber demonstrated that he has the knowledge, skills and leadership accomplishments worthy of national recognition.

HSFO Grants

Dr. Rob Beanlands (Cardiology) Effects of Long Term Adaptive Servoventilation Therapy on Myocardial Energentics and Sympathetic Nerve Function in Patients with Heart Failure and Sleep Apnea. A substudy of the ADVENT trial – 3 Years – New Annual

Dr. Jean DaSilva (Cardiology)

  1. Effect of Glycemic Therapy on Impaired Myocardial Noradrenergic Innervation and Bata Adrenoceptors in Rat Models of Diabetes – 2 Years New Annual
  2. Impaired Cardiac cAMP Specific Phosphodiesterase 4/Beta Adrenoceptors in a LAD Ligation Rat Model: Effect of Various Therapeutic Approaches in Initial Human PET Studies – 2 Years – New Annual

Dr. Darryl Davis (Cardiology)

  1. Strategies to enhance cardiac repair – 3 Years – New Annual
  2. Personalized medicine: Patient specific in vitro model of atrial fibrillation – 2 Years – New Annual

Dr. Michael Gollob (Cardiology) A Cutting Edge Approach to Gene Discovery in Lone Atrial Fibrillation: Whole Exome Sequencing –  1 Year – New Annual

Dr. Ruth McPherson (Cardiology) Genotype to Phenotype: Functional Analysis of CAD Genetic Variants – 3 Years Renewal

Dr. Edward O’Brien (Cardiology) Atheroprotection via Modulation of Monocyte/Macrophage Biology by Heat Shock Protein 27 – 2 Years Renewal.

Dr. Andrew Pipe (Cardiology)

  1. Integrating the “Ottawa Model” for Smoking Cessation into Routine Primary Care Practice: A Cluster Randomized Controlled Trial – 2 Year New Annual.
  2. Self directed titrated nicotine patch versus standard treatment for smoking cessation in smokers motivated to quit. New Annual.

Dr. Derek So (Cardiology)  Obstructive Sleep Apnea as a Risk Factor for Clopidogrel Unresponsiveness in Patients Undergoing Percutaneous Coronary Intervention: Prevalence, Mechanisms and Possible Influence on Clinical Outcomes – 2 Years Renewal.

Dr. Ajoy Basak (Endocrinology) Novel functional inhibitors of proprotein convertase subtilsin Kexin 9 (PCSK9] for intervention of hypercholesterolemia – 2 years New Annual

Dr. David S. Park (Neurology) Pathways which regulate neuronal death. Career Investigator 5 years.

Dr. Ruth Slack (Neurology) Regulation of autophagy to treat stroke. 3 years Renewal.

Dr. Xiaohui Zha (Endocrinology) Characterization of microparticles released by ABCA1- expressing macrophages. 2 years – New Annual

Dr. Lisa Mielniczuk (Cardiology) Right ventricular substrate metabolism as a predictor of right heart failure in patients with pulmonary arterial hypertension. New Annual.

Dr. Marcel Ruzicka (Nephrology) Sympathetic activity in patients with end-stage renal disease on peritoneal dialysis. New Annual.

Dr. R. Glenn Wells (Cardiology) Respiratory motion compensation in coronary flow reverse measurements with CZT dedicated cardiac single-photon emission computed tomography. New Annual.


Dr. Michael Froeschl interviewed by The Ottawa Citizen about links between oral health and cardiac health.