Department of Medicine receives lion’s share of TOHAMO innovation awards

The Department is pleased to announce that 6 of its members were named recipients of this year’s TOHAMO innovation awards, announced March 8th, 2011 (list below). Of the 1.2 million available in the fund for 2010/11, the Department of Medicine will receive close to half to support the following projects:

Dr. Alan Tinmouth – The Ottawa Hospital Sickle Cell Disease Comprehensive Care Program

Dr. Anne McCarthy – Ottawa Malaria Decision Aid

Dr. Alan Forster – Does the Physician Performance Management Lead to Improved Quality of Care

Dr. Douglas McKim – Non-Invasive Ventilation and Airway Management E-learning: Translating knowledge into Practice

Dr. José Pereira – Difficult Discussions, Better Decisions: Improving End of Life Care in TOH and Community

Dr. Pierre Cardinal – REACHout

Congratulations to all!

TOHAMO Innovation Awards

Phase 3 of the Academic Health Sciences Centres (AHSC’s) Alternate Funding Plan (AFP) included money to support development of new and innovative practices in health care and support leadership in dissemination of knowledge across the health care system through the AHSC AFP Innovation fund. The Ottawa Hospital Academic Medical Organization (TOHAMO) received 1.2 million from the Innovation Fund for 2010/11. The fund was established as a competitive peer review fund accessible to all academic physicians who participate in an AFP and the ability to submit proposals was open to all current TOHAMO members.

The Innovation Fund provides seed funding to support innovative projects and to enable academic physicians to develop a program sufficiently to qualify for additional support or to facilitate the translation of new strategies into medical practice. The Fund affords academic physicians the opportunity to evaluate novel strategies to transform health care delivery in Ontario.